Нур-Султан +7 °С
Almaty +14 °С
Exchange rates
USD 449.85
EUR 485.43
RUB 5.71
CNY 70.69

Japan to bar foreign resident re-entry from areas flagged for Omicron

1 December 2021 11:48

TOKYO. KAZINFORM - Japan will deny re-entry of foreign residents who have recently been to countries deemed likely to have widespread infections of the coronavirus's Omicron variant, the government's top spokesman said Wednesday, Kyodo reports.

The measure, which comes on top of an existing ban on new entries of foreigners from around the world, will come into effect from Thursday and remain «for the time being,» Chief Cabinet Secretary Hirokazu Matsuno told a press conference.

The ten countries subject to the re-entry ban are Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.